LTC Class (formerly CHL) – $80.00
This is the State of Texas required class to qualify you for a License to Carry a concealed handgun or the open carry of a handgun in public. It includes four to six hours of mandatory instruction on handgun use, laws that relate to weapons and the use of deadly force, non-violent dispute resolution, proper storage practices of your guns, a written examination, and shooting proficiency qualification. Our classes are limited to ten students or less to provide a better learning experience and we provide a training reference manual.
- Texas Handgun Statutes
- Texas Penal Code
- Handgun Safety
- Retention Holsters
- Non-violent Dispute Resolution
- Proper Storage Practices
- Shooting Qualification
- Written Examination
Private Class – Oct 5th – 9AM – 4PM
Oct 19th – 11:30am – 5:30pm
Nov 30th – 11:30am – 5:30pm
We also teach private group classes.
Call us to coordinate a date
for your group.
The class will be held at Thunder Gun Range and shooting proficiency will be conducted first, followed by the minimum 4 hours classroom study. After that students must pass a twenty five question written examination. Shooting proficiency qualification includes firing 20 shots from 3 yards, 20 shots from 7 yards, and 10 shots from 15 yards at a B-27 target. Shooting is timed with either two or three seconds allowed per shot, depending on the distance from the target. This is not a class to teach you how to shoot and the state expects you to be proficient with a handgun prior to taking this class. Starting in Feb 2019 we will offer a two hour Basic Pistol Fundamentals Class just prior to this class each month that will teach you the basics of pistol shooting and live firing instruction/practice. If you need the basic instruction and practice before taking the LTC Class you need to sign up for each class on this web site. Basic Fundamentals class is taught by a highly qualified NRA certified instructor.
Students can qualify with either a revolver or semi-automatic pistol with a minimum caliber of .22 Long Rifle. Rental guns will be available through the range for a rental fee of $25. You will need 50 rounds of ammunition for the shooting proficiency qualification and it can be purchased at the range or bring your own factory loaded full metal jacket ammunition. You also need ear plugs or over the ear protection, eye protection can be prescription glasses of safety glasses, and both can be purchased at the range if you do not have them.
You must register at least 2 days in advance of class. If less than four people pre-register the class will be cancelled and deposits refunded. Last minute registrations taken if four people have pre-registered.
You must be within six months of attaining the age of 21 to take this class.
Pre-Payment with your registration is required to reserve a slot for a class. If you cancel attending more than 48 hours prior to the scheduled start time of a class you’ve registered for there will be a $50 cancellation fee deducted from your refund to cover our advance administrative costs. Cancellations within 48 hours of a class or not showing up for a class are subject to forfeiture of their pre-payment.
Please click here to review our full registration policies and details.